We played house

We played house
It feels unreal to see you go
into the grey and yellow morning sky,
through the window that you cleaned
not a week ago,
now I see you through stripes.

I tried to repair your jacket,
in whimsical stitches, sitting on the couch,
while you did the outside of the house.
Your window cleaning and my sewing,
imperfect, but good
for at least a lasting memory
of us keeping house.

Through the blurred glass of the living,
I watch you touch the jacket’s scar,
and you turn around, in awe,
for one last moment.

I think I might have left the needle
in the fabric.

a repost

Comments on: "We played house" (16)

  1. I needed a chuckle today

    Thank you for that.

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  2. I love the way you make a sense of memories so living in your verses. It’s always a joy to me.

  3. Great Ina!

    Very poetic and very funny! Seriousness and humour all mixed together; I like that 🙂

    L&H xx

  4. Loved that…its flowing

  5. Much enjoyed the reading!
    Rachael 🙂

  6. Excellent poem.

  7. This one gave me a good smile.

Leave a Reply

