Vintage

We could argue with words,
bare footed, smashing grapes
to make wine between our toes,
splashing the purple juices
over our white clothes,
jumping up and down,
crushing the fruit.
We could argue like that,
you and I, but the result
was always a good vintage.

No it’s not lonely to be here alone in
a bed of marbles, pillows made of stone and
I feel no cold nor do I shiver much
remembering your hands and touching.
No it’s not lonely to be here alone at all.

You could always lift me
pregnant as I was
even up the stairs.
No I don’t miss you,
not every day,
only when it is time
to yield the fruit,
to smash the grapes,
to make good wine.
We were good vintage.

Comments on: "Vintage" (30)

  1. Here’s to not missing it at all times!

    Cheers…

    e

  2. A champagne of writes…much enjoyed…hope you are doing well!
    Rachael πŸ™‚

  3. Yes there are those who are best vintage indeed.

  4. I will drink to this and not miss him everyday 😦
    Thank you for sharing your heart once again. I’m so glad your back and well.

  5. Hi Cookie, thank you very much, it is good to be doing this again! πŸ™‚

  6. Nicely done, Ina.

  7. Great metaphor…very clever πŸ™‚

  8. How you manage to get so much into a few nuance packed words is a wonder to me. Bloody marvellous if I may say so. You are a good vintage on your own, never mind your blending skills

    • Thank you very much! πŸ™‚ I am very glad you like my poem, this comment really makes me blush! πŸ™‚

  9. Nicely done! In 2008, I wrote a prose piece by the same name in 2008 – same basic metaphor, but a much different result. http://ericalder.wordpress.com/2008/10/07/vintage/

  10. Slainte! – Beautiful poem πŸ™‚

  11. There is an exuberant joy about this poem which makes it a delight to read.

    Here’s to more wine making πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  12. I always love how the philosophy of ‘no regrets’ that come through in your love poetry, Ina – that understanding that the richness of life is in the completeness of experiences. This one reminds me of Edith Piaf’s famous song: ‘Je Ne Regrette Rien’!

Leave a Reply

