Why mothers cry

There is no word yet to describe the loss
that I felt, each time, after giving birth,
when the empty womb was useless and abandoned,
as all should be about the joy that is new born.
Many words are said about child birth
but silenced, underneath the stretched out skin,
there was safety.

I was all around you to protect you
and to fight for you with my own flesh
and my own strength. Yet there is no word
to describe my tears for you,
once you were on your own. What had I done,
I made you enter a cruel world that has no name
to call the dearest kind of love.

Comments on: "Why mothers cry" (10)

  1. So much emotion here…it leaves me wordless…exceptional write, Miss Ina…and most thoroughly enjoyed πŸ™‚

  2. Seems we had the same thoughts today. Love your words as always. Thank you

  3. Ina this is a terrific poem!

    I feel every word πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

  4. β€œMaking the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”
    Elizabeth Stone

    • Hi John, yes it is the most important decision (if you decide, and not just let it happen of course πŸ™‚ )

  5. Even something as supremely intimate as bearing a child has to be let go of … Powerful!

Leave a Reply

