When words have lost their meaning,
remaining shells with nothing more,
their letters with no goal, just tired, pale and leaning
against the doorpost like some old forgotten whore,

then poetry is dead and gone,
and language lost its purpose all together,
nothing to revive it can be done,
no words are saved, no single useful letter,

no meaning to the sentences is real.
If you don’t sense my words, the ones I wrote, are true,
you never know of how I bleed and feel,
nor that I am in love with you.

Could language just be messenger of love;
it would be all, it would be so enough.

Comments on: "When words have lost their meaning -repost from april 2011 and changed a bit" (18)

  1. Mother passed in Sept just 12 days before their 67th Wedding Anniversary. It’s just father and I now, but in all those years love was never really expressed in words. It was expressed in the simple daily partnership of everyday life.

    • Hi Carl, 67 years almost, that is special! How special too that you have your father still around.
      It works like that, love to be sensed in everyday companionship, and of course, in everyday words as well…

  2. Astonishing – so frank and heartfelt.

  3. I suppose that’s the highest use of language–to deliver a message of love. Superb, Ina.

  4. I usually view sonnets with my editor’s eye – naturally! With this one the irregularities took some getting used to; I don’t mind poems where the metre varies, as it does here, between three and six feet per line, but I am less comfortable with grammatical inversions, as in line 7, which always make it feel as though the poet is groping for a rhyme. Nevertheless, as always, I love reading your poetry.

    M

    PS. You would enjoy the sonnet anthology. When it is published (Spring 2013) I’ll announce it on my blog/website.

    • Hi M
      Thank you very much for looking at it with your editor’s eye πŸ™‚ I don’t know what inversion you mean though, but I shall try and figure it out πŸ™‚

      I shall look forward to the sonnets!

  5. There is a truth in that words mean nothing but behaviour means everything.
    Nonetheless we need to remember that words are important too.

    Did you know that Shakespeare invented about 1800 new words.

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  6. As you said in one of your replies, ” our behaviour matters most, but words mean nothing. I am not sure ?”. Actions speak louder than words, possibly, but can also be equally dissembling. What I often try and sense is the nature behind the word or action. Yours is fully aware of beauty and regret and you express it powerfully

    • Hi Peter, thank you. I have found some human behaviour is formality only, and that has no real meaning, can be a lie even. ?

      We can learn to behave in such a manner that we are no nuisance to others though. πŸ™‚ That is important perhaps to keep society workable. Most important is that we don’t fool ourselves. If we say and behave the way we are, without the world being mad at us, it means that we are doing okay. I think. πŸ™‚

      Thank you very much for your comment! πŸ™‚

  7. very beautiful, Ina,
    Ik loop een beetje achter met lezen en bloggen πŸ™‚
    groetjes, Francina

  8. I am around, Ina, and so enjoying your poetry that I am catching up on. Forgive the Likes without comments but know that I am here and a believer! β™₯

  9. Your poetry is a “messenger of love” and it is “so enough”…

Leave a Reply

