Old woman

She lived alone
in something of a house
with sand as floor,
a table and one chair,
no light, and she was old.

They called her witch,
she never left the door.
The others dared me to go in.
I entered, and she was surprised
to get some company,
as I was glad she didn’t eat me all alive.

Once she had been somebody’s wife,
now all she had,
was looking forward to her death.
But how she smiled!
As if she knew a secret that
I had to earn to know as well as she had done.
No teeth involved, no there were none,
my fear had been in vain.

I went away for just a month;
when I returned,
her house was gone
and so was she,
so was her smile,
and no one told me what or how,
but every now and then,
for just a little while,
I see her face again.
Her secret not unfold.

Comments on: "Old woman" (9)

  1. 🙂 I changed “yet unfold” into “not unfold”

  2. Beautiful poem Ina!

  3. As always…a pleasurable read 🙂

  4. It’s funny how things work out sometime. This reminds me of a poem I published in the Zuni Mountain Poets anthology about an old man living in a cave by the dump on Orchard Mesa in Colorado when I was young. He too disappeared without notice. I had been afraid of him too. This is a good effort, Ina.

    • Thank you Thomas. This woman had died, her “house” was demolished. It was just before the AOW ( a law which provided monthly income money for all old people over 65) was introduced. They are now destroying that good social law, as money is no longer available and there are so many old people. Bummer.

      • The money is still available, I am afraid, Ina. It is just not in the right hands. I hope the European recession is not hitting you too hard.

        • It will be hitting us hard starting next year, but I suppose we shall just have to economize and work our way to better times?

Leave a Reply

