Poultry

You look at poultry and don’t think :
These were birds once,
wings and feathers,
they had distances to fly,
and eggs to lay in self built nests.

You see a chicken’s carcass, legs, the breasts
and think of food and gravy to go with it,
what wine goes best with duck or dove,
should we have two each, or is one enough,
but they were birds once that you plan to eat.

Maybe if hunters missed their goal,
by now this bird would fly over your head
and shit on you in every colour green.

Comments on: "Poultry" (15)

  1. You make a good point here Ina. I write as a meat-eater, but I have to admit that I am far from being a hunter or a farmer.

    • Hi John, that is interesting, to write as meat-eater. I eat meat but I try not to 🙂 so mostly fish. For some reason, I don’t feel about fish as I do about other animals, which is not right perhaps! Thank you! 🙂

  2. Not on ne they wouldnt!! I am vegetarian!! Lol xx
    funny poem 🙂 xx

  3. It’s true…the human populace in general are raised to be a desensitized lot…great write and the ending gave me a wonderful smile…many thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Believe it or not, when a bird flies overhead they don’t stop to as if there’s a vegetarian below… 🙂

  5. I haven’t eaten meat for 40 years but birds still shit on me – where’s that at?…

  6. I was once only a fish eater, Ina … then I began eating poultry again ( still no ‘red’ meat since the mid-90’s)… but this piece is so true … if we thought about what we were eating I think we would all be a lot thinner! It really is a dilemna.

    • Hi Diane
      there were hunters where I walk this morning, the sound of the shooting and the screams of the animals/birds, I don’t like it one bit. But maybe the animals are better off than when they have to live being sick or crippled. Not too sure. They also shoot perfectly healthy birds and rabbits,,,

Leave a Reply

