timing

I serve eggs burned,
or not boiled long enough.
If timing is a virtue
then I am a sinner,
always too early
or hopelessly late.

The nice people already
have found all their friends
before we finally meet
and I am already gone
when you arrive at the party.
Timing is the worst part of my life.

I wrote this poem a day after the deadline for a poem contest about timing. πŸ™‚

Comments on: "timing" (12)

  1. Well Ina, at least you are consistant! LOL

  2. Ahh Res sorry that I missed you here earlier ! Timing, you know… πŸ™‚

  3. As I look in the mirror, your poem echoes through glass…greatly enjoyed the reading πŸ™‚

  4. “What is the most important element…”

    “Timing.”

    “… of humour… oh…”

  5. I love your poetry. It always highlights something or makes a point with such accuracy. Delicious. A real treat for me.I myself provide sanctuary to many endangered failings

    • Hi Peter, thank you very much, that is so nice of you to say! And I think you write wonderful postings! πŸ™‚

  6. Well, now I know I am in very good company, Ina! Great poem!

  7. Talking about timing I’m late to comment but love the subtle humour of your poem – and how ironic about the competition! They should have given you first prize for appropriateness…

    • Hi John,
      thank you! It was last year (this poem was in draft, like most of what I publish at the moment) I wish I had thought of that, I would have entered it and maybe it would have worked! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

