Some greyish funeral attenders
passing by my house,
while rain is hitting them and hail,
walk silently behind the hearse;
only the last one says a curse
but no one minds. This was his friend.
Old mates they are, and will be to the end.

Comments on: "Walking to the end in rain and hail" (17)

  1. Lots of mixed emotions emerge at funerals in my experience.

    And some comments you wouldn’t expect too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I like this, it creates a vivid picture of the scene ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love and hugs xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you very much, The way he said it in this funeral procession (that was the word I couldn’t find in my mind when I wrote this) because of the weather, moved me in its honesty. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love and Hugs xx

  2. Ina very nicely written! I really loved this!

  3. Hi Ina. I really like this one, the last mourner swearing makes it utterly human and of course no one minds. A true friends behaviour is always acceptable, especially at times of great sorrow.

    • Hi Res, thank you very much. To know it is okay not to be able to behave ones best is a comforting thought, ๐Ÿ™‚ (if that is a good English sentence lol)

  4. Ha, at last I have an avataar or a Gravatar as this site likes to call ’em!LOL โ™ฅ

  5. I have been known to utter an oath at a funeral too

    Arohanui

    David
    xxx

    • Hi David ๐Ÿ™‚ lol I don’t know the expression, but I can imagine * grin * ๐Ÿ™‚

      Arohanui ๐Ÿ™‚
      Ina
      xxx

  6. Yes, true friendship endures the raging weather of life.

  7. Not one word from this piece that I didn’t love. You have written this beautifully.

  8. What is a swear word among friends? So often funerals are stiff and unnatural affairs … this one comes alive in the midst of death. What a wonderfully written observation!

Leave a Reply

