Reductio ad absurdum

We came together often
though none of us would speak
we just tore off each other’s hair
and sniffed armpits
unintended
but we understood each other well.

Every postcard after that
lying blue skies
and never I felt more apart
from being together
but you seemed happy
not touching
not your warm smell
close to my good mornings.

Living under a blue sky
that is lying
on bright postcards
wish you were here.

The handwriting tells me
in three sentences
you miss me
but that the weather is good.
You drew a little sun
with a sad smiley.

The rain here almost faded away
the ink of your name.
Proof enough for me.

I love the rain now.

Comments on: "Reductio ad absurdum" (9)

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes said:

    I liked this very much. I don’t know if I “read too much into it” but the “blue sky that is lying on bright postcards” – that was excellent. It read to me that the blue sky was false, only on bright post cards, because to you it was dim, sad. Don’t know! But that line really caught me.

    • Thank you! I am glad you liked it. :) I saw postcards from Bridlington when I was there, a very blue sky when it was actually grey black! :) Makes me wonder!

  2. Beautifully done Ina. I love the way you use the weather here.

  3. Your words touch deep – rain falls from my eyes remembering the aging postcards under my bed…

  4. ‘Living under a blue sky
    that is lying
    on bright postcards
    wish you were here.’
    Excellent imagery … play on the word ‘lying’ … and phrase ‘wish you were here’ that deepens that postcard cliche. So often we believe what we need to believe … and why not? The last lines make that claim, I think. Another great poem, Ina!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 851 other followers

