Forgotten love

By now I’m sure you have forgotten me,
I on my part, try hard to do the same,
but in silent moments I say your name
and think about our lives, how it should be.

I felt well, while being closer to you,
this nearness showered me with joy and hope,
and gave me courage to go on and cope,
much more than just those silly phone calls do.

But now you have moved on, away from me.
Your phone is dead, the mailman has no mail,
and my autonomy will soon prevail,
back being one, alone, as I shall be.

We were just pedestrians on our way,
both not meant to stop, not meant to stay.

Comments on: "Forgotten love" (19)

  1. Aww. I loved how you have cradled this emotion, with your language and your rounded corners, as if it is something delicate. It is familiar, but because it is painful, it feels alien at the same time. I hope your heart is OK. :-)

    • Hi Irisoniris
      Yes, this is a feeling that has passed. :) But I like to write about my former love aches lol. Thank you very much for your comment!

  2. Lovely, poingnant and expressive. I shall keep this one

  3. Great work. Short and to the point!!

  4. Wistful and beautiful – I especially love those last two lines!

  5. Ina, you are really becoming quite a sonneteer. This is really good. The loss it talks about is anesthesized, obviously, but still makes a strong sonnet. I think Nick Moore has influenced you in a good way.

    • Hi Thomas
      thank you, sometimes a poem comes out like a sonnet :) I am sure reading Nick’s poems has a lot to do with it :)

  6. Very touching words, Ina, very well written as usual. :)

  7. There’s nothing like ‘former love aches’ for making poetry! It is a certain element of detachment and observation in your writing about them that leaves us all a little wiser if wounded for them.

    • Hi Diane
      Thank you, if you look at what happened from a distance, it gets a bit universal I suppose :)

  8. Francina said:

    Prachtig gedicht , Ina , over love found and lost.

    groetjes, Francina

  9. This is very lovely and sad…

  10. Ahh. Ina. You have once again, touched the essence of our lives with this poem. Sadness. Life in memory. Great writing my friend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers

