Still me

The hotel’s bathroom mirror tells me all.
So much I didn’t know about my body.
When did this happen?
If this is true,

this living image on the wall
and it must be, then I am not

the person whom I thought I was.
I am definitely new,
differently reflecting
in that looking-glass
and shivering.

I go outside,
with this new image in my head.
There is a different, golden light.
Strangers’ eyes now recognize me
differently, but still as human
(I am somewhat relieved).

A new life is beginning.
I still am woman.
I still am me.
See me.

Comments on: "Still me" (20)

  1. we can always start anew on any new day

  2. I’m happy to read I’m not alone…. smile

  3. Ina, no matter what you see, you are still you! We hear that the flesh will fade away and only the spirit stays! Your spirit can still light up the pages where your words come to life with their ever inspiring light! You are still the same beautiful, wonderful person, that will not change, keep moving forward…keep writing from your heart my sister, stay the illuminating light that you are!

    • Hi Wendell
      thank you very much :) That huge bathroom mirror really showed everything lol :) I don’t have that at home! :)

  4. This is an interesting poem, Ina. You seem to startle into a moment of revelation looking into the bathroom mirror. What you see is different than how you thought you were. At first this worries you, but you have this new image in your head. Revelation continues when …strangers
    now recognize me
    differently, but still as human..
    You are relieved, though you are intensely aware of their recognition of the new image you have of yourself. Then the final lines:
    A new life is beginning.
    I still am woman.
    I still am me.
    See me.
    Through the revelation in the hotel’s bathroom mirror, you are thrown into a new life that you sense is just beginning. You are still a woman. You are still who you are, am me, and then you demand, “See me,” telling your readers to see you in the revelatory way your now see yourself.
    And all of this from looking at yourself in a hotel bathroom mirror! Fascinating, surprising, poem.

    • Hi Thomas,
      thank you very much!
      We all must accept that we can’t stay the way we were, but that we need to move on (in our looks we change, but more so, in how we feel and think perhaps. Growth?). It is not a bad thing, but it can be confronting. And in the end, it is a relief to know we are still us when we get older, and even more so? :)

  5. Before mirrors, we were judged on how we behaved…Now it is all about looks…

    Cast those mirrors into the sea and free yourself…

    • Hi Michael
      I suppose it is good to see ourselves for whom we are, and be happy with it. I am :)

  6. A very good and very true to life poem. The mental image of our body is so important to us and sometimes, perhaps in a different situation (like at a hotel), where the light is different, the mirror is longer, perhaps, our opinions can change. Hopefully for the better!

  7. A poem which reflects (pun intended) a profound truth.

    It is my experience that every now and again we are required to re-evaluate who we are.
    This is always an enlightening experience.

    It is also my experience that the older we get the more that full length mirrors are to be avoided!!! :)

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David
      lol thank you. Refections in a bathroom mirror… but of course it was not just the outside. Being abroad on my own was good for reflecting some thoughts, a lot happened in the years and I think, honestly, that I have learned a little. But not so much that I could call myself wise. That will never happen.

      Those mirrors sneak up on us, we better deal with them with our heads up high ! :)

      Arohanui :)
      Ina
      xxx

  8. Ina, I can relate to this! Changes, changes…. which we gradually (or suddenly) accept. :)

  9. I really related to this, Ina, and found your reply to Thomas Davis’ comment very interesting:

    ‘It is not a bad thing, but it can be confronting. And in the end, it is a relief to know we are still us when we get older, and even more so?’

    Yes, I believe that is so … at least we should become more ourselves, less concerned with the visual except as it shows us how far we have come.

    • Hi Diane,
      thank you very much. I think it is true, we age and learn and accept… and such :) and we find out whom we really are. When you are young, you don’t know that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 919 other followers

