http://www.valleypressuk.com/books/nosuchthings/ 

Hi everyone, I am in Leeds now after a really fantastic 2 nights stay in Bridlington. I have eaten spaghetti with twelve poets and publishers (yes we were 13 there at the table, but in 2 sittings…) in the house of a lovely lady who organized a poetry festival and whom I met in a church where she did a reading. She read some of my poems there too! Just imagine! It was the first time I ever heard someone read them aloud, in real English and all! And in front of an audience! She then invited me, showing me around several readings, (it was a hectic day) but although that was very impressive, and I mean hospitallity wise, most important: Belfast Davids new book There are no such things as sea gulls is out! It is a bright covered, lovely example of what a poetry book should be like. I enjoyed reading some of the poems on the way from Brid (lington) to Leeds  (thank you for the lift, David!) and tonight is the second launch in the Carriage works  theatre at 19.30, so if anyone can make that reading, I think it would be a good idea to go!  :)

***************************************************************

Love Leeds

They wear black as if going to a mass funeral but my guess is they are not. They look too chipper and ambition is in their young eyes. They walk swiftly between the courthouse and the railway station, unaware of my feeling of guilt, that I play hookey here.

Like the players of my national football team that so deserved lost the game last night, they are individuals, all with a goal in their future. They look determined and so is their tred.

Just when I start to think they must be hardened lawyers, in spite of their age, one of them bumps up to a man of lesser fortune, who tries to sell a paper.

She puts a hand on his shoulder and I am sure she says: Sorry love. Then she moves on, the lady in black. On the face of the man stays a memory of better times, and he needs to blink when reality kicks in again. But she made his day, she called him: Love.

Just a poem that I wrote as I think of this morning when I did my walk through the centre of Leeds. “Live Leeds, Love Leeds” it read somewhere. I added “Leave Leeds”  as I just went through my ankle thanks to strange sidewalks. But the black dressed lady and the paper seller made me see this busy city differently!  :) I hope no one is offended, but I shall have to wait to comment on the  rest of your comments to the previous poems as some one else wants to use the one pc here too  :) Till soon!

Comments on: "There are no such things as sea gulls / Love Leeds" (16)

  1. Very glad you had a nice trip…it must have been a very great moment to hear someone else read your heart (your words)! I am so happy for you Ina!

  2. This is a great post Ina.

    And t leaves a big smile on my face. Its really interesting to see how someone from another country views our “little” city! I was just having a conversation with my daughter yesterday about people in the city! She commutes between Leeds and Manchester every day. She was saying how they all dress in dull colours, wear headphones and have heads buried in books (she includes herself here! Lol) They want to know nothing of anyone else’s business even to the point, sadly, of ignoring disabled people looking for a seat. This maybe a bit of a generalisation, but she has noticed it.

    As for our pavements (sidewalks) – sorry! They are awful Lol!! :)

    Enjoy the rest of your stay :):)

    Love and hugs xx

    • Hi Christine
      it was a lovely trip, and Leeds was very lively and busy.
      I like the possibility in British trains to make a seat reservation, not always possible, but if so, it is a good idea I think.
      The last morning I went to the Leeds city museum, nice building and great café, with comfy sofa’s, I nearly dozed off there…

      Love and hugs xx

  3. Sounds like a great trip, Ina.

  4. I am so pleased Ina that the trip worked out so well for you.

    I feel honoured that you were prepared to come to my readings and I thoroughly enjoyed your company.

    Safe home

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David
      thank you, yes it was a good stay! I am pleased you enjoyed my company, likewise, and thank you for everything. I got home safe and sound :)

      Good luck with the last launch on Sunday!

      Arohanui :)
      Ina
      xxx

  5. Thank you for this informative, descriptive & poetic post…

  6. Sounds like a lot of fun!

  7. This whole post made me smile–both the prose poem and the description of the poet gathering. I wish I could have been there in the corner looking on.

    • Hi Thomas
      I am glad it made you smile :) I think you would have enjoyed the company there, such enthousiastic people! I sort of listened a lot mostly. :) I hope to keep in touch with some!

  8. So enjoyed this, Ina…what a wonderful literary gathering you attended and how exciting it must’ve been to hear your poetry read out loud! Bravo! Your observations and reflection on Leeds sent me to reminiscing about the one time many years ago (I was twenty…thirty-xxxxxxxxx years ago…) when I hitchhiked through Leeds with some fellow American students in route to Haworth (the Brontes are a theme in my comments on your posts this week, it seems…). It wasn’t a very pretty place, as I remember, but a very real one (I loved your thoughts on the black dressed lady and paper seller…)! In the end a lovely old man with a very small car had us all cram in and pridefully took us to Haworth, with a little detouring around the beautiful rolling, grey-stoned Yorkshire countryside!

    • Hi Diane,
      what a great time you must have had! :) It sounds like fun!
      Leeds was very busy, coming from an island with not that much traffic, I always feel a real peasant when I am in a big city, where everone seems so occupied and quick and knowing what they are doing. There were some nice old buildings I liked. I only went to one pub, but that one was a proper pub! :) Really nice. I liked Leeds for the friendly people I found there. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 731 other followers

