After a quarrel

When hurt takes over, I can run away
find shelter somewhere else until it’s gone.
I have no need to fight the pain and stay,
a coward in your eyes, but then I’m done.

If only words can damage so much good
then should we talk at all about our grief?
The good seems gone from our lives, so would
it not be better seeing one of us just leave?

I need the quiet, walking through the dunes
where thoughts get shape and new perspectives live,
my words find music, blackbirds sing the tunes
and when I’m home again, we do forgive.

We so are human and both had our share,
so no, I won’t be going anywhere.

;)

I am not sure this would qualify as a sonnet, but it was more or less the natural flow I wrote this in this morning. I am gone for a few days, tomorrow I shall be going to the mainland with my husband. There is internet in the hotel though… ;)

Comments on: "After a quarrel" (14)

  1. Francina said:

    Mooi gedicht , Ina.. het is soms inderdaad beter om even weg te gaan en na te denken voordat je spreekt.

    Fijne dage nen ik zie je ergens eind juni want ik ga er ook even tussen uit.

    groetjes,
    Francina

    • Hoi Francina,
      dank je wel, dat is zo.

      Ik ben inmiddels weer terug :) geniet van je tijdje er tussen uit, en veel inspiratie gewenst!
      groetjes
      Ina

  2. This is definitely a Shakespearean sonnet, Ina. I hope you keep writing them. You have a talent for structured verse that is pretty remarkable. Quarrels are so painful, even if you have lived together and loved each other for years and years, but in the end the coming back and forgiving is what counts. That’s what this sonnet so truthfully says.

    • Hi Thomas, thank you very much. :) I think I shall write more of them, they have a nice rhythm!

  3. I agree – this definitely counts as a sonnet, and – with that closing couplet to resolve everything – it is in the Shakespearean form as Thomas says. And a very welcome concluding thought!

    • Hi John, thank you very much :) The resolving last lines of such a sonnet, they are what counts perhaps.

  4. Very well written Ina, liked it very much!

  5. riatarded said:

    :) <3

  6. ‘I need the quiet, walking through the dunes
    where thoughts get shape and new perspectives live,
    my words find music, blackbirds sing the tunes
    and when I’m home again, we do forgive.’

    Beautifully done, Ina! Hope you have / had / are having a wonderful trip. Diane XO

    • Hi Diane, thank you very much, yes we had, I loved the bath in the hotelroom lol. :)
      Ina XX

  7. Lovely poem Ina.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,017 other followers

