Archive for May 21, 2012

Back in the alley

Through the alley I went
because from the harbour
I could hear the music
as the band was playing.

Sunshine in other streets,
festivities elsewhere,
marching older children
but here, not yet. Silence.

This was the alley where
expectations grew as
I ran bare feet over
the bricks through the darkness.

Feeling the cold I ran
towards the waiting warmth
where the music approached
and then faded away.

I don’t recall the band
nor the marching children.
All that was left for me,
empty streets, setting Sun.

Thinking back I suppose
I didn’t make it then
but that feel was a new:
knowing expectations!

Through dark alleys I go,
the light always waiting.
Though I wear shoes now
my feet feel the cold bricks.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers