Your face, your voice

I saw a face in setting sun
that I adored, a face so old
in quietness, but young in looks.
I heard a voice in evening prair
that I found dear, a voice so young
in timelessness, but old in words.
It was your face, it was your voice,
Papa. I dreamt of you last night.

Comments on: "Your face, your voice" (12)

  1. Francina said:

    ontroerend geschreven, mooi en weemoedig.

    lieve groetjes, Francina

  2. Very touching, Ina, very evocative and I’m sure it strikes a chord among all of us.

  3. Ina this is just lovely.

    I occasionally dream about my father and he is always young and active. Tha’ts how I like to remember him

    Love and hugs xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you. Your dreams are similar to mine! During anesthetics when I had operations, I dreamt of him very vividly, and we had enormous arguments, like in real life.
      I changed “Father” here into “Papa” because I never called him father.

      Love and hugs xxx :)

  4. Beautiful tribute Ina. I often dream of my mother. She holds a special place in my memories.

  5. So touching and lovely, Ina – very beautiful!

  6. How moving, Ina…how simply and lovingly expressed.

    • Thank you very much Diane :) I am so pleased you read all these poems of mine and find the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 734 other followers

