Awkward in a hotel room

First you checked all the lights,
made sure there was an iron
and that the telephone worked.
You noticed a hair in the shower.

By the time you started to undress,
folding your pants over a chair
with great precision,
I was on my way to the door.

I had made my decision,
I can’t do romance no more.

Comments on: "Awkward in a hotel room" (12)

  1. I love these poems of yours with the unexpected twist at the end. This is very clever and very funny and also sad. (As if checking that the phone works is romantic!) I would have made a fast exit too. I really like this poem – still have a smile on my face.

    • Hi, thank you very much! :) It is such a turn off when the room becomes the object of love in stead of the lover lol. But the first time I actually was in a hotel for some romance, I enjoyed the lovers admiration for items in the room as it was his first hotel visit! So it makes a difference perhaps if you really love the person to bits or not that much… ? :)

  2. Very Nice Ina :)

  3. This is great, Ina – one of my biggest clients is a hotel chain, so I’m forever writing about hotel rooms; I shall have this poem in my mind next time, which will make my job a lot more enjoyable :-) Thank you!

    • Hi Nick, thank you very much :) Hotel rooms are special in a way, as so many people use them, sleep there, and so much could happen, or not like in this poem :)
      I remember one time we just jumped up and down on a bed because it had this springs.

  4. *Laughing Out Loud*

    I suppose it is sad in a way, but it did make me laugh

    Thank you

    Hugs

    David

  5. This is great Ina, it really made me laugh! And yes, as others have said, sad too.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xxx

  6. Always have found it odd that people think hotels are romantic…I blame the cinema…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 730 other followers

